MARRIAGE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

¢ You must obtain a marriage license in the Connecticut town where the
marriage ceremony is taking place.

® Marriage licenses are by appointment only. You must submit the completed
license application to the Vital Statistics Office by email, mail, or fax.

Please provide the best phone number for staff to contact you to make an appointment.

e |f you are emailing documents, do not email copies of Social Security cards

or documents with visible Social Security numbers.

® Please choose your officiator and set the date of your wedding before -

applying for a marriage license. We ask that you provide us with the name of

the person performing the ceremony and their telephone number.

e The marriage couple must both appear in person at the Office of Vital

Statistics. The marriage license is valid for 65 days from the date it is

initially issued. Your wedding date must not be more than 65 days after you

apply for the license.

¢ Bring with you your government issued photo identification, social security card (if
available), along with $70 (in the form of cash OR check) — we cannot accept credit or debit

cards The fee covers the cost of the license and the certified vital that will be returned to you

once we receive from your officiant.

e Each party to the marriage must be at least 18 years of age to apply for the
license independently. If either party is between the ages of 16 and 17, a
probate judge in the jurisdiction where the minor resides must approve the
marriage. Children under the age of 16 are not allowed to marry per
Connecticut State law.

e If a person who wishes to marry has a Conservator, the Conservator must
appear in person with a government issued photo identification, proof of

Conservatorship, and a written statement of consent.



THIS IS NOT A MARRIAGE LICENSE

Please email, fax, or mail this completed worksheet to Vital Statistics.
See the attached instruction page for requirements and details.

Worksheet to Apply for a Marriage License

SPOUSE ONE SPOUSE TWO
NAME  (First) (Middie) (Last) NAME _ (First) (Middle) (Last)
SEX DATE OF BIRTH (Mo., Day, Year) AGE SEX DATE OF BIRTH {Mo., Day, Year) AGE
EDUCATION (No. Yrs, Completed) EDUCATION {(No. Yrs. Complated
BIRTHPLACE (State or Country) GRADES |GRADES [COLLECE (ﬁ-5+) BIRTHPLACE (State or Country) GRADES GRADESO EISOLLSGE&(?-5+)
18 9-12 18 912

RESIDENCE (No, and Street) RESIDENCE (No. and Street)
CITY OR TOWN COUNTY STATE CITY OR TOWN COUNTY STATE

SUPERVISION OR CONTROL BY GUARDIAN OR CONSERVATOR

Oyes [no

SUPERVISION OR CONTROL BY GUARDIAN OR CONSERVATOR

Lyes [Owno

FATHER/PARENT FIRST & LAST NAME PRIOR TO FIRST MARRIAGE

FATHER/PARENT FIRST & LAST NAME PRIOR TO FIRST MARRIAGE

MOTHER/PARENT FIRST & LAST NAME PRIOR TO FIRST MARRIAGE

MOTHER/PARENT FIRST & LAST NAME PRIOR TO FIRST MARRIAGE

MOTHER/PARENT BIRTHPLACE
{State or Foreign Country)

FATHER/PARENT BIRTHPLACE
{State or Foreign Country)

MOTHER/PARENT BIRTHPLACE
(State or Foreign Country)

FATHER/PARENT BIRTHPLACE
(State or Foreign Country)

IF PREVIOUSLY IN MARRIAGE OR
CIVIL UNION, LAST
RELATIONSHIP WAS

NO. OF CIVIL
UNIONS

NO. OF THIS
MARRIAGE

1. IMARRIAGE 2.[JCIVIL UNION

IF PREVIOUSLY IN MARRIAGE
OR CIVIL UNION, LAST
RELATIONSHIP WAS

NO. OF CIVIL
UNIONS

NO. OF THIS
MARRIAGE

1.] MARRIAGE 2] CIVIL UNION

LAST RELATIONSHIP ENDED BY:
1. DEATH 2.JDISSOLUTION 3.[C] ANNULMENT

4.[JPREVIOUS CIVIL UNION DID NOT END. MARRYING CIVIL UNION
PARTNER

LAST RELATIONSHIP ENDED BY:
1] DEATH 2.]DISSOLUTION 3. [] ANNULMENT

4.CJPREVIOUS CIVIL UNION DID NOT END. MARRYING CIVIL UNION
PARTNER

PHONE NUMBER:

PHONE NUMBER:

OFFICIATOR INFORMATION

OFFICIATOR'S NAME {FIRST)

(LAsT)

OFFICIATOR'S Telephone Number

TowN WHERE MARRIAGE CEREMONY WL BE PERFORMED!

DATE OF MARRIAGE:

Note: Social Security numbers for both spouses must be provided at the time of the appointment for a marriage license. Do not
email Social Security card copies. Do not email any other documents without removing all Social Security numbers.

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY




